XI Winter Paralympics Opening Ceremony in Sochi

The XI Winter Paralympic Games in Sochi have begun!

The Opening Ceremony began at 8PM MSK, which was 8AM PST. Unfortunately, I could not get my internet browsers to play on YouTube or CBC so I watched the CBC live stream (http://www.cbc.ca/sports/paralympics) for mobile on my iPhone… 40 minutes after the ceremony had begun.

(Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSy56Q7lcVo)

This post will be a recap of the Opening Ceremony in tweets. If you get a chance, please watch the Paralympics Opening Ceremony! 🙂 The Opening Ceremony will replay at 2PM EST / 11AM PST on CBC TV!


(She’s playing Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy from The Nutcracker on glass! It’s a skill I would love to have.)


(504 dancers dancing to Tchaikovsky’s The Nutcracker – Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy and Waltz of the Snowflake!)


(These were the cultural costumes in all the colours of the rainbow!)


(Reminded me of Titanic. In fact, I would really like the costumes, if Sochi doesn’t need them anymore.)

(The lighting of the cauldron was pretty epic.)

(The fireworks seemed to go on and on and on!)

A big shout out to @Dani_DCFan & @Svenja1912 for tweeting with me during the Paralympic OC! 🙂

Agitos

Vancouverites and visitors to Vancouver, the Olympic Cauldron will be lit tonight from 6-8PM at the Jack Poole Plaza. It will be lit again from 6-8PM whenever Canada wins gold and again for the Closing Ceremony on 16 March from 4-6PM.

Follow on Bloglovin